back to article UK Govt claims lead in 'green motoring revolution'

More details about the Government's £100m plan for developing a 'leccy car infrastructure in the UK have now emerged. Well, a few. Despite reading the Department of Transport statement half a dozen times, we're still not quite sure who is paying, how much, what for, or what anyone will get in return. We can say that the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Danny Thompson

Too late ...........

I've been toodling around on a ZEV for the past three months, in that time not going into a Petrol station once! Most excellent. We don need no stinkeen government to tell us to drive electric, all we need is the ZEVs and we'll do the rest .. Manufacturers take note, you're all too damn slow.

2. Eponymous Cowherd
    Thumb Down

What a load of b........

So a Government that rakes in over £25 BILLION in fuel duty spends £100m on 'green motoring'.

And they wonder why people think that global warming is merely an excuse to raise taxes?

3. Pete James

And the point is?

By my reckoning £10Million divided by 100 is £100,000, which I think will handsomely cover a Tesla Roadster. Looks like some of these family trials will have some extremely small children then!

Joking apart, while I can understand the budget needing to have spare cash for maintenance and support of these 100 vehicles, but since when did it mean the majority of the budget when they are supposed to be cheaper to run? I smell something distinctly of the Grimsby origin here - and it's not a Fisherman's Friend.

If it's to part-fund the development of the vehicles then that's bang out of order. Why on earth should UK tax be going to predominantly foreign companies to pay for something they have already spent some years tossing around with and getting nowhere? Obviously these firms will pay the money back when sales take off. Not.

4. dervheid
    Dead Vulture

Ah yes, everyone has their price.