Same here #
Posted Sunday 26th October 2008 22:53 GMT
Perhaps they already fixed it?
Posted Sunday 26th October 2008 20:55 GMT
No, it's not: the link to the proof of concept shows me this page: http://liudieyu.com/kissofthedragon.32168816196486005/bye.html -- and there's no spoofed address in the address bar.
Methinks either I have an updated/immune Chrome install, or El Reg has screwed up?!
Posted Sunday 26th October 2008 22:53 GMT
El Reg has just linked to the proof of concept incorrectly.
Correct proof of concept link:
http://liudieyu.com/kissofthedragon.32168816196486005/
(e.g. lose the 'bye.html' off the end)
Then click the BBB logo presented to open a popup with a bbb.org 'address' and his own content.
Posted Sunday 26th October 2008 22:53 GMT
Try this address: http://liudieyu.com/kissofthedragon.32168816196486005/
Click the button to "verify" with the bbb and you should see the exploit in a pop up window.
Posted Monday 27th October 2008 00:07 GMT
So do we get the impression that security is designed into Chrome through its architecture, or do we get the impression that it's an implementation add-on which depends on its programmers noticing the vulnerabilities ?
Posted Monday 27th October 2008 01:01 GMT
That's the last time I get taken in by a bunch of etchings.
Probably didn't have the right team on this one, all of it going to the goo goo gadget javascript engine.
Posted Monday 27th October 2008 11:28 GMT
Quote from Liu Die Yu who found this - "I don't see Apple Safari vulnerable in the same way," he writes in an email to The Register. "They share the same engine(webkit)."
Chrome uses v525.13 of Webkit, Safari uses v525.19. I haven't tested in Safari, but I have tried the POC page in Iron, the fork of Chrome from SRWare which also uses v525.19 of Webkit, it gets an alert for bbb.org that is 'undefined' and if you OK this you get what appears to be the correct page.
Maybe it is a Webkit issue, can anyone who has the developer version 0.3.154.3 of Chrome say what version of Webkit this uses ?
Posted Monday 27th October 2008 11:37 GMT
..this was still in beta. exactly when bugs should be caught. Surely no-one's using this browser for anything other than testing at the moment?
Posted Monday 27th October 2008 13:01 GMT
I use version 0.2.149.30 and it didn't work for me. I can see the normal URL in the address bar. Not Phished.
Posted Monday 27th October 2008 20:48 GMT
Just tried it on both, and they redirect to the legitimate site, not the PoC site.
Sign up, sign up for The Register's weekly IT security newsletter - click here