Feeds

back to article Norwich Union Life fined £1.26m for security holes

The Financial Services Authority (FSA) has fined Norwich Union £1.26m for failing to safeguard customers against fraud. The City regulator said it had slapped the firm's UK life insurance biz, Norwich Union Life, with a record-breaking financial penalty because of a number of glaring system weaknesses which exposed confidential …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Just goes to show.

Businesses only care about the security of our data when it becomes too expensive not to care.

Thumb Down

Thats business for you...

Make as much money as you can while doing as little as possible. Don't REALLY care or fix problems, employ a PR dept to cover them up coz its cheaper.

Thumb Down

That's funny

When I was a student about seven years ago, I supplemented my beer money temping - the very first job I was given was data input at Norwich Union. I was plonked down in front of a computer, a manager logged me in, and I was left to my own devices. It quickly dawned on me that I had pretty much unlimited access to the whole customer database - I could look up names, addresses and medical history of anyone who was or had ever been a Norwich Union customer, for the whole two weeks I worked there.

Out of boredom I have to admit that I did look up people I knew, but felt bad about it and stopped, as I could see confidential medical data on them.

I also looked up a few celebrities, including the entire royal family (not sure if was really a customer or whether some joker had added them) but there was nothing juicy.

Good thing I was honest and kept information to myself - but being a completely unvetted temping worker, I could have quite easily done mischief. Especially as due to my data entry work, my access was not limited to reading the database - I could have altered stuff too, if the mood had struck me.