back to article Why do we think virtualization is new?

There are very many different communities involved in IT, ranging from those on the sharp-end user side of things to the many more engaged in the vendor and channel. Plus, of course, several different groups, including analysts like myself, that sit somewhere between the two. As with life everywhere else, all of these different …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Mike Laverick
    Pirate

Nothing new under the sun

Virtualization is NEW. Real New. To Windows people. People do go on and on about how virtualization is not new. Everyone knows this. It's not new to Unix people but is new to Windows people.

About 4 years ago there was a very little marketing hype about virtualization, and I had to spend my time (I'm an instructor) actually explaining what is "virtualization" and what is a "virtual machine" - and crucially what the advantages and disadvantages were. You see Unix and Windows are two different countries, they speak different languages there.

As for the hype. I blame that on people who didn't get how important virtualization was going to be 4 years ago. These guys really missed the boat, and they are the type sure hate missing gravy trains that give them a license to print money based on other peoples ignorance. They those companies who previously were doing Windows consultancy ago-go, but woke up last week a heard about this company called VMware. Now they are calling themselves "experts".

You see in life there always people who move from field to field chasing easy money. It's these types who are being sucked into virtualization. In a few years time these people will be gone. Chasing the new gravy train. Whilst those of us who have been in virtualization sometime, will carry on virtualization the other 95% of IT that has yet to come.

Don't like things that are "new" in IT?

Seek an alternative career. IT's called change...

Regards

Mike Laverick

RTFM Education