Grange Hill TV firm's website exposes CV details
Lime Pictures, the television production company behind teen dramas Hollyoaks and Grange Hill is currently displaying a prospective employee's personal details on its website. A Reg reader spotted the error last Friday while browsing the job section of the Lime Pictures website after he clicked on a link that should have opened …
Still up there
Well, the script's still up there and running. In fact you can view previous applications by simply keying in a new id number on the URL.
Who built this? Bit of a Data Protection issue there ...
Google Indexed
To make matters even worse, her particular application has been googled indexed:
http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=Lime+Pictures+online+application&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a
How can they get away with this!
So not only is this poor persons details spread and cached across the internet but all the other job-seekers who have had the misfortune of adding their personal details to this companies website! I wonder if they have a data-protection office, they could be very busy.
I don't see what the fuss is about
You can change the information. If she's bothered, she should just go back and delete it all. I'm happy just to add Bishes and Boshes and remove her phone number.
Looks like they've finally noticed
Well it appears that they have finally noticed and pulled the page. I wonder what legal action they are now open to if the applicants do in fact suffer from identity theft!
removed
I assume El Reg has alerted the poor woman by now, or at least asked for a comment.
The site now reads :
"Due to technical difficulties we are not able to offer an on line application facility at the moment."
The page is still available, however, cached by Google.
Personally, I don't think I'll be applying to a bunch of cowboys like this for a job.
OOPS
Anyone else notice that the application was for "Administration Supervisior"?
It's gone now
They've pulled it now - they have puit up a note stating "Due to technical difficulties we are not able to offer an on line application facility at the moment.
We are pleased, however, to be able to accept applications with a CV as an attachment to the following email address"
I let the reg know about this..
I let the reg know about this, i was applying for another IT role, and alerted the person who's details where in there, and Lime Pictures & The Reg, and the hosting company of the website, and guess who responded the quickest?
It's a shocking oversight from whoever updated the site, don't blame IIS or MS, this is a terrible mistake to have been made, whoever published the page needs shooting.
Hope my eagle eyed vision gets me a job....
If only...
If only software engineering, even down to humble web (app) development, had the same sort of professional bodies and standards organisations associated with physical engineers (ok there is MCSE I guess). We could do with a software engineer's RIBA.
Granted having a bridge, building or dam collapse is worse than having a business application or website fail, but even so... the problem with IT, and especially the internet, is that there are no mandatory professional bodies to (attempt to) ensure the standard of the work undertaken. Too many people think that because they can use Dreamweaver that they're a web developer... and to make matters worse, many companies/individuals employing web designers/developers don't know the difference either and don't understand the difference, in the end result, between a £14k website and a £40k one.
